Join Our Mailing List

Friday, 30 October 2015

Blog Tour Interview & Giveaway - Up and In by Deborah Disney

http://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2015/09/vbt-up-and-in-by-deborah-disney.html


Up and In
Author:
Deborah Disney
Genre: Women’s Fiction

Book Description:
Distinctly middle-class parents, Maria and Joe have committed every bit of available income to giving their daughters Kate and Sarah the best education possible, which to them means attending the most exclusive girls school in the state. But when Kate befriends the spoilt and moody Mirabella, Maria finds herself thrust into a high society of champagne-swilling mother-istas she hasn't budgeted for. Saturday morning netball is no longer a fun mother-daughter outing, but a minefield of social politics.

While the increasingly neurotic Maria struggles to negotiate the school mum hierarchy, Joe quietly battles a midlife crisis and Kate attempts to grow up as gracefully as possible (without having her life ruined by embarrassing parents).

For every woman who has ever felt she may be wearing the wrong shoes, this is a book that will remind you - you're not alone.

Fans of Liane Moriarty and Fiona Higgins are sure to enjoy this debut offering from new Australian author, Deborah Disney.

Buy Links:


Author Interview

1. What inspired you to want to become a writer?
I am no good at speaking. I am always stuffing up and saying the wrong thing. Writing gives me time to edit myself, and I really like that!

2. Tell us your most rewarding experience since being published.
Making connections with other authors has been hands down the best part of this whole experience. I really feel like I’ve found my tribe.

3. If you could have a signed copy of any novel what would it be and why?
Unless it were one I could sell for squillions, I’d probably only be interested in this if it meant I got to personally meet the author. And even then I can’t decide on just one author whom I would like to meet above all others. Sorry – I’ll have to keep thinking on that one.

4. If you could have any superpower what would you choose?
Mindreading.

5. Please tell us in one sentence only, why we should read your book.
Because it would make you laugh and me happy.

6. Any other books in the works? Goals for future projects?
Yes, I have outlines for my next three novels. I want to take some time and write them to the best of my ability, so I expect it to keep me out of trouble for several years. Other than trouble with my family for spending so much time on my laptop. There is bound to be plenty of that.

7. Do you write as you go or do you have the book planned before you start the first draft?
A bit of both. I start off with an outline of the whole story, but as I write, sometimes I deviate and things change from what I initially planned.

8. What movie and/or book are you looking forward to this year?
Bridget Jones’s Baby - should be a cracker!

9. If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be?
I would love to live somewhere remote and peaceful with a view of the ocean and a good wine delivery service ;-)

10. Can you see yourself in any of your characters?
There is a little piece of me in nearly all of them. It’s like character DNA!


About the Author
Australian author, Deborah Disney, grew up in the regional city of Toowoomba and now lives in Brisbane with her husband and two school-aged daughters. Deborah has a BA/LLB from the University of Queensland and practised as a solicitor for a number of years prior to having children. She chose to specialise in litigation law as that seemed like the best preparation for what is now her looming battle – mothering her daughters through the teenage years. Deborah's first novel, Up and In, is a satirical look at the interactions of school and sporting mums.

Author Links:



***GIVEAWAY***


Book Blitz Organised by:

1 comment: