Join Our Mailing List

Thursday, 17 November 2016

Book Blast & Giveaway - Asmodeus by Brooks Hansen

http://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2016/10/book-blast-asmodeus-by-brooks-hansen.html


Asmodeus
Author: Brooks Hansen
Genre: Romantic Historical Fiction

Book Description:
…Here again, his natural figure crouched beside her in the dank darkness of the cave, watching her in silence as she slept, struggling with cravings which were new to him, both tender and violent, and which he could only really compare to hunger… (from ASMODEUS)

On the cusp of the Great War, an even more pitched battle is waged in the furthest corner of the Nordic highlands, the final chapter of a centuries-old rivalry, pitting a troubled bloodline of thieves, journeyman, and politicians against the last and greatest dragon of the hemisphere, Asmodeus.

Until now, the source of this antagonism has been a single gemstone, the fabled shamir, whose history traces to the coffers of King Solomon. The present clash, however, has been sparked by the emergence of an even more desirable, more defiant, and more powerful force than that.

Inspired by the golden legend of St. Margaret, Brooks Hansen’s Asmodeus is a masterfully woven tapestry of history, myth, and fantasy, in the tradition of J.R.R.Tolkien, Bram Stoker, and C.S. Lewis. By turns a romance, an adventure, and the darkest imaginable Gothic, his tale is also, as seen through the eyes of the maiden Margr├ęt, an unflinching exploration of our divided nature — what makes us beasts, what makes us human, and what makes us divine.

Buy Links:

EXCERPT

His golden eyes flicked open, blinked, and narrowed to a squint as he finally lifted up his great, horned head. He shrugged the veil of wings. He uncoiled from his most precious gem and lumbered upward, following the airborne trail up through the high tunnel to the opening just beside the cataract.

Only his muzzle appeared at first, shining like tar in the slanting sunlight, but even that merest of appearances stirred notice among the hovering hawks and vultures: Look. Be warned and wary. The master had awakened.

His head slid further out, taking in the day. The clouds had lifted. The sky was polished glass, but the familiar whisper was still there, coming from below. Down on the near shore of the inlet was a scuttled boat. Again his eyes narrowed, trying to figure from the tides just how long ago the wreck had occurred, and whether its victims were still on premise. He hoped not. Men had their place, but it wasn’t here.

…He crawled further out onto the ledge and extended his neck toward the curtain of water, which was fuller today than usual, gushing down from the mountains after all that rain. He helped himself to several gulps. He let the bracing cold beat on his head a while, then shook free with a glistening, majestic explosion, lifted his wings and leapt. He glided most of the way down, turning three wide circles in the crux of the fjord, his great spanned shadow dashing along the cliff-side, flicking across the cataract, then across the blue surface below, around and up and around again three times before finally re-meeting him, claw to claw, on the strand beside the boat... 


About the Author
BROOKS HANSEN is an author, screenwriter, essayist, and teacher. His novels – THE MONSTERS OF ST. HELENA, PERLMAN’S ORDEAL, THE CHESS GARDEN, and BOONE (co-authored with Nick Davis) were all New York Times Notable Books. THE CHESS GARDEN was also selected as a PW Best Book of the Year in 1995. He has written one book for Young Readers, CAESAR’S ANTLERS, which he also illustrated. In 2009 he released his first memoir, THE BROTHERHOOD OF JOSEPH, and in 2005 he received a John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship for his most recent book, JOHN THE BAPTIZER, which was published in 2009 by W.W. Norton. More recently, his fiction appeared in CENTRAL PARK: AN ANTHOLOGY (Bloomsbury USA, 2012), and he has an essay slated to appear in another upcoming anthology THE GOOD BOOK (Simon & Schuster, 2015).

Brooks Hansen is the critically acclaimed author of The Chess Garden and 7 other books, most recently Asmodeus: The Legend of Margret and the Dragon. He has recently launched his own imprint, Star Pine Books. He lives in Carpinteria, California with his wife and children.

Author Links:


***GIVEAWAY***

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Book Blast Organised by:
http://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com

19 comments:

  1. Congrats on the tour and thanks for the chance to win :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hi all,
    Author stopping by early – West Coast time – to say hi and thank you for hosting. If any of your readers having any questions or comments, I’ll be back around to answer. In the meantime, thanks again and keep up the great work!
    Brooks

    ReplyDelete
  3. The book description and excerpt sounds intriguing. Thanks for sharing.

    ReplyDelete
  4. what is your favorite thanksgiving side dish?

    ReplyDelete
  5. Thank you for hosting this giveaway :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. Replies
    1. been a while since I've done actual physical touring, but I'll tell you what's toughest about it: eating healthily. You find yourself in spots where it just can't be done. The great part is getting to know the readers and storeowners.

      Delete
  7. Thank you for the chance to win. Happy Thanksgiving!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Asmodeus sounds very adventurous, I would like to read this book. Thank you

    ReplyDelete
  9. This sounds like an awesome book. Thanks so much for the giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  10. The master had awakened. that sounds good-read the excerpt

    tiramisu392 (at) yahoo.om

    ReplyDelete
  11. I really like the plot of this book. Where do you get your ideas?

    ReplyDelete