Join Our Mailing List

#TOE Double Giveaway

CLICK ON THE IMAGE TO ENTER


Thursday, 31 March 2016

Name Before the Masses Blog Tour Interview & Giveaway - Lies I Live By by Lauren Sabel

http://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.co.uk/2016/02/excerpt-tour-lies-i-live-by-by-lauren.html?zx=1dba26b23942abab


Lies I Live By
Author:
Lauren Sabel
Genre: YA Thriller

Book Description:
These are the facts: My name is Callie Sinclair. I am seventeen years old. I live in San Francisco. I love my boyfriend, Charlie. I work for a secret governmental agency. I am a psychic spy. This romantic, action-packed twist on the classic spy novel is perfect for fans of Ally Carter’s Embassy Row series or for any reader who enjoys cinematic writing and stories of romance and intrigue.

At seventeen, Callie is the government’s youngest psychic spy, trained to track dangerous people and weapons in her visions. When another young—and handsome and witty—psychic joins the agency, Callie’s personal and professional lives get messy all at once. If she can’t find a way to change the events she’s seen in her visions, she could lose the people she loves most . . . and her mind. Literally.

Richly painted against the backdrop of San Francisco and Berkeley, Lauren Sabel’s enthralling novel captures the thrill of exploring a unique power in a dangerous world.

Buy Links:



Author Interview

1. What inspired you to want to become a writer?
I’ve always loved stories. I love to hear them, to tell them, to eat them for breakfast. Everything else in life pales in comparison to a great story, especially one that hooks me in the beginning and keeps me enraptured until the very end. That sucked-into-a-glorious-wormhole is the feeling I’ve always wanted to be able to give people.

2. Tell us your most rewarding experience since being published.
My two year old daughter recently picked up a copy of my new book LIES I LIVE BY off our living room floor, pointed to my picture on the back of the book jacket, and said, “Mommy!” She started flipping through it, smiling, and then declared, “I read book!” (video attached)

3. If you could have a signed copy of any novel what would it be and why?
I buy all my friends’ books, and make sure they are signed. Those books mean more to me than all of the classics in the world because I saw these writers struggle through draft after draft, and keep pushing through to the end. 

4. If you could have any superpower what would you choose?
Flying, definitely.

5. Please tell us in one sentence only, why we should read your book.
Because “appealing characters merge seamlessly into a strong plot that captures readers early on and doesn’t let go until the very last chapter. “  At least according to Kirkus Reviews.

6. Any other books in the works? Goals for future projects?
I’m currently working on a multi-narrator book set in one of the scariest places on earth: a high school.  I’d also love to write a sequel to LIES I LIVE BY because I have a feeling Callie has a lot more to say, although she hasn’t told me exactly what that is yet.

7. Do you write as you go or do you have the book planned before you start the first draft?
I write as I go. I desperately want to be a plotter, but I somehow can’t live my life or write my books that way.  The really fun things in life and writing just seem to pop up, out of nowhere, and take me over completely.  That’s how writing LIES I LIVE BY felt like; like a fever.

8. What movie and/or book are you looking forward to this year?
I never know what I’m going to read next, unless a writer friend of mine wrote it. That’s part of the excitement of being a dedicated reader: going to the bookstore or library and perusing the shelves until you find the perfect match for you at that moment in your life. You don’t choose the book: the book chooses you. That’s Book Kismet.

9. If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be?
Rome. I lived there for a year in college, and for a few summers since then, and it has always been a home in my heart I return to.

10. Can you see yourself in any of your characters?
Callie is definitely another version of me. Not the psychic part, but the part of her that reacts to the world around her with a mix of hope and cynicism.  In fact, I gave her so many of my own personal reactions to the world that my editor suggested that I make her more “likable.” It’s true; Callie’s a bit whiny, but I guess I am too. Whiny but brave.


Other Books by the Author


Buy Links:


About the Author
Lauren Sabel lives in the quirky dark spaces of her mind, and she tries to shed light on these spaces in her books. After publishing VIVIAN DIVINE IS DEAD in Summer 2014 with Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of Harper Collins, she confronted her lifelong fear of being psychic by writing LIES I LIVE BY (pub May 2016). Since in this YA thriller, teenage psychic spy Callie Sinclair works undercover for the government, forced to hide her real identity from everyone she loves, Lauren is now certain she’s on the CIA watch list.

Author Links:

Blog Tour Organised by:

55 comments:

  1. Some writers describe themselves as planners, while others plunge right in to the writing. Would you consider yourself a planner or a plunger? Do you work from any kind of a plan?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I would love to be a planner, but unfortunately, I'm a plunger. The fun of writing for me is discovering the main character's voice, and that comes from just spending time in that character's thoughts, rather than plotting the story from the outside in.

      Delete
  2. Enjoyed reading your interview, thank you!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thank you for this giveaway. The interview was nice!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I always wonder how authors come up with character's names, so how did you find those for the cast of your book?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Birgit,
      Callie's name just sort of emerged from my "conversations" with her (in my mind). As for the other names, I guess they all just sort of fit the characters. For example, I knew a really wonderful kind guy named Charlie once, and so that name naturally fit Callie's boyfriend. The only name I came up with purposefully was Allison Sinclair, Callie's mom, as Allison is my sister's first name, and she is like Callie's mom in a lot of ways.

      Delete
  5. thank you for the chance to win :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. Thank you for hosting my interview on your blog today. You rock!
    Lauren

    ReplyDelete
  7. I have enjoyed the interview. Thanks for sharing it.

    ReplyDelete
  8. what do you consider the toughest thing about writing or what is your muse?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The toughest thing about writing is continually believing in yourself. You have to trust your voice to carry your story, and that can be intimidating.

      My muse is the character I am writing about. She motivates me because I hear her voice in my head and I have to write it down.

      Thanks for the interesting questions!
      Lauren

      Delete
  9. Great interview, thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Thank you for the chance.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Thank you so much for sharing this giveaway with us.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Thanks for the great interview and for hosting.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed the interview.

      Lauren

      Delete
  13. Thoroughly enjoyed the interview... can't wait to read the book!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Sheryl,

      I'm so glad you enjoyed the interview. I hope you like the book!
      best,
      Lauren

      Delete
  14. Enjoyed reading your interview! Thank you!
    deannankeller@yahoo.com

    ReplyDelete
  15. This book sounds awesome! I love the cover. So interesting!

    ReplyDelete
  16. I am really enjoying following this tour, thank you!

    ReplyDelete
  17. Who edited your book and how did you select him/her?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Lysa,
      My editor Katherine Tegen edited my book, along with her assistant Katie. I didn't choose them - I guess they chose me when they offered me the book deal. They are fantastic!

      Delete
  18. Sounds like a great read, thank you for the interesting interview!

    ReplyDelete
  19. Thank you so much for the giveaway!!!

    ReplyDelete
  20. Stopping by to share. Have a great week.

    ReplyDelete
  21. Hi there! I've enjoyed reading the interview & also your answers to others' questions in this comments section! Thanks so much for such a lovely giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  22. Enjoyed reading the interview! I think if I had a super power I would want to fly too! Thanks.

    ReplyDelete
  23. Great interview! And I love the book art. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Josh Cochran is the artist, and he's awesome. I'm glad you like it!

      Delete
  24. Stopped back to say Enjoy your week and also shared post.

    ReplyDelete
  25. Terrific interview! Thank you for the share. :)

    ReplyDelete
  26. Great interview. Love the cover too.

    ReplyDelete
  27. The covers for these books look so original and eye-catching. Thanks for sharing with us

    ReplyDelete
  28. Stopped by to share the post. Thanks again for hosting. Enjoy your week.

    ReplyDelete
  29. Thank you for the generous giveaway.

    ReplyDelete
  30. I often dream of flying, I think I would choose that as my superpower too! :) Thank you!

    ReplyDelete
  31. Vivian Divine has an eyecatching cover. I think it sounds like a book I would enjoy too! Thank you.

    ReplyDelete
  32. Shared post. Happy Mother's Day!

    ReplyDelete
  33. I just love the book cover, it’s amazing!

    ReplyDelete
  34. Shared post. Have a good Sunday!

    ReplyDelete
  35. Congrats on the new book and good luck on the book tour!

    ReplyDelete
  36. I have added this book to my TBR list and look forward to reading this book!

    ReplyDelete
  37. Thanks again for hosting. Sharing post.

    ReplyDelete
  38. Hope you are having a fabulous weekend! Looking forward to reading this book!

    ReplyDelete
  39. What is the name of your favorite restaurant?

    ReplyDelete
  40. Sharing. Hope you have a nice day.

    ReplyDelete
  41. Thanks again for hosting. Enjoy your weekend.

    ReplyDelete
  42. Have a great weekend. Thanks again For the giveaway.

    ReplyDelete