Tuesday, 7 July 2015

Blog Tour Excerpt & Giveaway - Traveler by Dennis W. Green




Traveler
Author: Dennis W. Green

Book Description:
Blending mystery, police procedural and sci-fi, Traveler is a thriller in the tradition of Daniel Suarez and Dean Koontz, with just a dash of Jim Butcher.

Police detective Trav Becker can travel between parallel realities. So can other versions of him. And one is systematically killing every Trav he can find.

Trav must fight to keep the very fabric of time itself from unwinding as he hunts the most dangerous quarry of all… himself.

He must hunt the most dangerous quarry of all… himself.

Buy Links:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18741604-traveler


Excerpt

As I stepped out onto the sidewalk, a Toyota hybrid, running silent on its electric, glided toward me. The passenger window rolled down.

Sam leaned over, squinting up at me through the opening.

“Get in.”

“What’s going on, Sam?”

He shook his head, lips pressed tightly together.

“Wait. I thought your car was in the shop.”

“Never mind that. Get in.”

I slid in. Sam gunned the tiny engine before I even got the door shut.

“Where’s the fire?”

Sam shook his head. He quickly swung the little car into a three-point turn and pulled out into the street, one hand on the wheel, the other fiddling with his phone.

“Wanna watch where you’re driving?”

“We have more to worry about right now than a fender bender,” he replied grimly.

He fell silent, dividing his attention between the road and his phone. Something was bothering me about his appearance, and after a few seconds I figured out what it was.

When I had left his lab a couple of hours ago, he’d been wearing a navy blue t-shirt that said, “Trust me, I’m the Doctor” on the front. Now his shirt was green, bearing the Green Lantern symbol.

He also had managed somehow, in the last two hours, to acquire a two-day’s growth of scraggly, ginger beard.

“Spill something on your shirt?”

He didn’t answer, and refused to speak for the rest of the trip, until finally we pulled up at a familiar door.

“This is my place.”

“No shit. C’mon.”

Sam took the steps up to the apartment building two at a time, no small feat considering his stature. I hurried to follow, pulling keys out of my pocket. When we got to my door, Sam pushed past me. Then he half turned to me and held a finger to his lips. He brought his phone up and swiped the touch screen a few times, frowning. Finally, he relaxed.

“Okay, it’s clear.” He reached past me and turned on the light.

“What’s clear? What the hell is this all about?”

“C’mere.”

Sam led me across the room to the closet. He put his hand on the knob and began to turn it, but stopped.

“Uh…this is probably going to be a little weird.”

“Like it’s not weird now? Just tell me what is going on.”

“Let me show you this first.”

He swung open the door.

Maybe Sam’s warning should have prepared me for what I saw. Or maybe I should have been warned simply by the chain of all the other impossible events I’d been through in the last few hours. Although at this point, I’d kind of forgotten a lot of them.

Regardless, nothing really could have prepared me for this.

Propped in a semi-sitting position against the boxes of out-of-season clothes, books, and old stereo components that filled my living room closet was a corpse. It was dressed identically to me, right down to the Cardinals baseball jacket. Which made sense in a way, because it also wore a face identical to mine.

Identical in every way except for the quarter-sized, bloody hole in the side of its head.


About the Author
Specialization is for insects.

Ask someone how they know Dennis Green and you might get any one of the following: Writer, DJ, actor, MC, swimmer, teacher, reporter, tech geek, husband, or dad. So it’s little wonder his favorite expression is the above quote by Robert Heinlein’s spacefaring immortal, Lazarus Long.A popular radio personality in his native Iowa, Dennis’s adventures as a DJ were covered by newspapers from Anchorage to Los Angeles. He has also worked on the stage, TV, and independent film. He is one of the Midwest’s most popular MC’s, hosting dozens of events each year.

Dennis’s first novel, the sci-fi detective thriller, Traveler, ranked in the Top Ten in the 2014 Ben Franklin Independent Publishing awards, and has a 4.9 review average on Amazon.. Prisoner is the second volume of the Traveler Chronicles, and will be out in the summer of 2015. Trav Becker’s saga concludes in the final volume of the trilogy, Hunter, which is due in 2016.

Dennis’s writing has appeared in the anthology Sadistic Shorts, magazines including Grift and Romance and Beyond, as well as his own blog at denniswgreen.com. He also writes for and edits the triathlon news site heartofamericatri.com.

By day, he is the general manager of Iowa’s only jazz radio station, KCCK-FM. And if it’s 5:30 am, you can probably find him in the pool, working out with the Milky Way Masters swim club.

Author Links:


***GIVEAWAY**

$50 Amazon Gift Card (INT).
Ends July 21st.


Blog Tour Organised by:

10 comments:

  1. thanks for the chance. can the winner choose for the amazon gift card for the amazon.ca site the shipping is cheaper for that site if live in canada.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oooh, I love the premise of this book! Murder, mystery and time travel, that's my kind of book! And thanks for the awesome giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I enjoyed the excerpt, thank you.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Sounds like an exciting book.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Thanks for the intro to a new author!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Such an intriguing cover and excerpt!

    ReplyDelete